Congratulations to our 2023 AAUT winners!

Congratulations to our 2023 AAUT winners!

1 March, 2024

Congratulations to the 2023 Australian University Teacher of the Year A/Prof Zala Volcic, from Monash University; the 2023 Career Achievement Award winner Emeritus Prof Denise Chalmers, nominated by Edith Cowan University and the 2023 Neville Bonner Award winner A/Prof Kerry Bodle from Griffith University. Watch the Official Video Announcement here.

At a time when it has become crucially important to understand and respond to dramatic changes in the media environment, Associate Professor Volcic has made significant and distinctive contributions to teaching media theory and practice. She is an international leader in bringing together the fields of media studies and intercultural education, pioneering a broadly applicable model of compassionate pedagogy that balances flexible, empathic teaching with rigorous academic expectations. You can watch a video of A/Prof Zala Volcic’s work here.

Emeritus Professor Denise Chalmers is an outstanding leader in learning and teaching. She is renowned for her scholarship, collegiality, contributions to professional associations and passionate commitment to mentoring the next generation of learning and teaching leaders nationally and internationally. Denise has led national and international projects, including embedding teaching quality criteria and promoting the use of performance indicators. For nearly 30 years, her work has recognised the importance of learning and teaching leaders and demonstrated the criticality of fostering, recognising and rewarding excellent teaching across the academic life cycle. You can watch a video about Emeritus Prof Denise Chalmers here.

Associate Professor Kerry Bodle is passionate about empowering young Indigenous people to embrace business as a potential career, indigenising the traditional business education curriculum and using community-led research to break down barriers and ensure success for Indigenous people, businesses and communities. Kerry demonstrates strong strategic, organisational and change management skills, and works with and leads a range of academic and professional staff in a demanding and changing environment. As Academic Director (Indigenous) of the Business School at Griffith University, she shares and applies her Indigenous knowledge in transforming the Bachelor of Business and Master of Business Administration courses, leading to improved learning outcomes for all students. You can watch a video about A/Prof Kerry Bodle here.

In the official video announcement, we also celebrate the winners across all the other award categories, including:

  • 6 Teaching award recipients;
  • 2 Program award recipients; and
  • 52 Citation recipients.

Watch the official announcement here to see all of the recipients. You can read about their work in the 2023 AAUT Awards Ceremony Booklet.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2023 Australian Awards for University Teaching—we hope their example will inspire current and future leaders in education.

An enormous thank you to our Award Committee Chairs, including Emeritus Prof Pip Pattison, Prof David Sadler, Prof Sally Kift and Prof Liz Johnson, all of our volunteer assessors and our committed Institutional Contact Officers who make this program possible every year. And thank you to everyone who joined us to recognise the achievements of this year’s award winners.