Congratulations to our 2022 Award winners!

Congratulations to our 2022 Award winners!

23 February, 2023

Congratulations to the 2022 Australian University Teacher of the Year Dr Poh Wah Hillock, from the University of Queensland, and the 2022 Career Achievement Award winner Prof David Boud, from Deakin University.

Dr Poh Wah Hillock is an innovative leader who has enhanced learning and teaching and the student experience at the University of Queensland (UQ). With her philosophy of identifying and then building upon students’ current knowledge, Poh has motivated and inspired countless students to excel in what is commonly regarded as a difficult discipline – Mathematics. Poh also led the successful transformation of UQ’s first year mathematics courses, delivering flexibility and high value on-campus learning experiences. The support network and course redesign have made a lasting impact on teaching and learning in the first year mathematics cohort at UQ, as evidenced by high course ratings, positive feedback from students and tutors and recognition from colleagues and teaching awards. You can watch a video of Dr Hillock’s work here.

Alfred Deakin Professor David Boud is a widely recognised leader in higher education and a prolific collaborator and mentor, linking learning and teaching leaders everywhere through research and co-publication. He has shaped the teaching, learning and assessment practice of higher education globally over the last 40 years. In particular, he has led and guided practical application of his work in assessment reform across the Australian higher education sector. Professor Boud’s pioneering work focuses on sustainable assessment, feedback as a process, and self-assessment and the development of students’ evaluative judgement. He has fostered application of his work in 85 education institutions in 19 countries, including 32 Australian universities, and has led or participated in 13 national collaborative projects to advance higher education practice in Australia. You can watch a video about Prof David Boud here.

We also congratulate A/Prof Benjamin Wilson from the University of Canberra for receiving the Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education. Associate Professor Ben Wilson is a Jagera man from the southern suburbs of Meanjin (Brisbane), with his Country extending out through Ipswich to Boonah. Ben has been teaching ecocentric approaches to education through Indigenous ways of knowing for the past three years at the University of Canberra and believes in the power and utility of First Nations knowledge to affect change in education systems.

In the official video announcement, we also celebrate the winners across all the other award categories, including:

  • 9 Teaching award recipients;
  • 4 Program award recipients; and
  • 59 Citation recipients.

Watch the official announcement here to see all of the recipients. You can read about their work in the 2022 AAUT Awards Ceremony Booklet.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2022 Australian Awards for University Teaching—we hope their example will inspire current and future leaders in education.

An enormous thank you to our Award Committee Chairs, including Emeritus Prof Pip Pattison, Prof David Sadler, Prof Sally Kift and Prof Liz Johnson, all of our volunteer assessors and our committed Institutional Contact Officers who make this program possible every year. And thank you to everyone who joined us to recognise the achievements of this year’s award winners. 

2021 AAUT NSW/ACT State-based Ceremony

25 July, 2022

The University of Wollongong is hosting the 2021 #AAUT NSW/ACT state-based ceremony. Let us come together to celebrate the achievement of the NSW/ACT recipients. This event is by invitation only. RSVP by Friday 29th July 2022 (extended).

2021 Career Achievement Award: Adjunct Professor John Biggs AM

9 May, 2022

We are delighted to have Adjunct Professor John Biggs AM, the recipient of the 2021 Career Achievement Award, sharing his journey and provides inspiration to aspiring university teachers. (Transcript)

Contents of this video —-

0:04 – Introduction and Background

0:40 – What is Constructive Alignment?

2:20 – How did Constructive Alignment work?

3:43 – Where could Constructive Alignment apply to?

5:14 – Thank you

2021 Australian Awards for University Teaching Awards Announcement

23 February, 2022

Presented by Professor John Dewar AO and Professor Angela Carbone.

Contents of this video —-

0:00 – Introduction by Professor John Dewar AO

2:49 – Overview of the AAUT assessment process

5:28 – Announcement of Citations recipients

6:48 – Announcement of Program Awards recipients

8:54 – Announcement of Teaching Awards recipients

14:28 – Announcement of Teacher of the Year recipient

18:05 – Announcement of Career Achievement Award Recipient

19:21 – Thank you

Save the date: 2021 AAUT UA Announcement

17 February, 2022