2020 AAUT-UA website

27 May, 2020

Universities Australia has relaunched the 2020 AAUT-UA website.

New layout with updated details about AAUT, award types, nomination packs, newsletters, past award recipients and more.

2020 AAUT Timeline

1 April, 2020

  • Phase 1: Nominee Registration: Monday 24th Aug to Friday 4th Sept
  • Phase 2: Submission Upload: Monday 14th Sept to Friday 25th Sept

Click here for the 2020 AAUT Key dates.


2019 Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) Awards Presentation Ceremony

25 February, 2020

Special thanks from Professor Deborah Terry AO (far right) Universities Australia Chair, to the Awards Committees Chairs: Professor Shirley Alexander (far left), Professor Denise Kirkpatrick (second left), Professor Kerri-Lee Krause (not in the picture) and the Awards Team Director, Professor Angela Carbone (second right) for their contribution to AAUT.

View AAUT Awards Presentation Ceremony photos

2019 Australian University Teacher of The Year

25 February, 2020


This year, three University of Queensland lecturers made a compelling crime film to engage students in their psychology course have been named the Australian University Teachers of the Year.

The creative approach by Professor Blake McKimmie, Professor Barbara Masser and Professor Mark Horswill transformed student learning by using a novel dramatic narrative to engage and motivate students to engage in evidence-based learning practices and to challenge them to use their newly acquired knowledge by applying it in immersive class activities working collaboratively with their peers.

Click here for the 2019 AAUT recipients list.


2019 International Society for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Conference

15 October, 2019

This year Professors Angela Carbone and Carole Rolheiser delivered a  Scholarship of Leading (SoL) Special Interest Group (SIG) workshop, The Scholarship of Leading: Mini-cases of Educational Leadership in Action on 10th Oct 2019 at the ISSoTL Conference held in Atlanta, Georgia.

To download an electronic copy of the publication they distributed in the workshop. Please visit



2019 AAUT Key Dates

18 June, 2019

Phase One: Nominee Registration – Monday 12th August – Friday 23rd August 2019

Phase Two: Submission Upload – Monday 2nd September – Friday 13th September 2019

Notification of Outcome – January 2020

2019 Australian Awards for University Teaching

18 June, 2019

2019 Nomination Instructions

The 2019 Nomination Instructions are now available for download from the Universities Australia Website or via this Dropbox link


2018 State-based Award Ceremonies

17 May, 2019

Recognising Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

South Australia/Northern Territory

The South Australia and Northern Territory Promoting Excellence Network (SANTPEN) are proud to present the AAUT Citations Award Ceremony to celebrate the Citation recipients from Flinders University, the University of Adelaide, the University of South Australia, Charles Darwin University and Batchelor Institute. Our special guest presenter Professor Kerri-Lee Krause, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) and Professor of Higher Education, will present recipient certificates in an invite-only event to be held in Adelaide on Monday, 29 April.

New South Wales/ACT

With the support of NSW DVCAs, Western Sydney University is organising a celebration (17 April 2019) for the NSW AAUT citation recipients.


Date: Thursday, 9th May, 5pm – 7pm
Venue: Deakin Downtown
Guest Speaker: Prof Jane den Hollander


Professor Debra Henly (Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) of Griffith University is pleased to host the Queensland ceremony recognising the winners of the 2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching.

The outstanding achievements of some of our State’s remarkable educators will be recognised – these include twelve separate institutional category wins:

– Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year

– Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards)

– Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning (Program Awards)

– Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

Recipients and dignitaries from Bond University, Central Queensland University, Queensland University of Technology, The University of Queensland, University of Southern Queensland will be in attendance.

The Queensland ceremony (Recognising Queensland’s Winners of 2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching) is being held on:

Date: Thursday, 11 April 2019
Time: 6.00 – 9.00pm
Venue: Function Room, The Ship Inn, Cnr Stanley and Sidon Streets, South Bank Parklands, Brisbane

2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching

31 August, 2018

Universities Australia (UA) is pleased to announce that the 2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) are back. Swinburne University (led by Professor Angela Carbone) is managing the administration of the AAUT on behalf of Universities Australia

This year, all award categories will remain unchanged along with the assessment criteria.

Award Types Categories No. of Awards
1. Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (Citations) 4 Up to 60
2. Awards for Program that Enhance Learning (Program Awards) 6 6
3. Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards) 7 7
4. Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year 1 1

Due to the level of funding made available by Government for the AAUT from 2018 onwards, prize money must be reduced.

Key changes to this year’s Awards are as follows:

  • Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning and Awards for Program that Enhance Learning will not attract prizemoney.
  • Awards for Teaching Excellence and the Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year will attract prizemoney, though amounts will be reduced. Details on prizemoney for these awards will be provided later.
  • The state-based Citations ceremonies will no longer take place. Recipients of Citations and Program Awards will receive a certificate. Ceremonies or other forms of public recognition will be at the discretion of the recipients’ institution.
  • Award recipients for Excellence in University Teacher and the Australian University Teacher of the Year Award will be announced at the Universities Australia Higher Education Conference, National Convention Centre Canberra on Wednesday 27 February to Friday 1 March 2019.

Submission of nominations will be due on Sunday 9 Dec 2018.  There will be a new online submission process.

In the meantime, we strongly encourage you to think about the nomination candidates and categories.

Stay tuned, as further information outlining the submission process will be provided in October 2018.


New appointment announced

20 December, 2017

The VTAS PEN and AAUTN would like to congratulate Associate Professor Angela Carbone on her new appointment as Associate Dean (Learning Innovation) and Professor in the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology at Swinburne University of Technology, commencing on 1 Feb 2017.



Page 8 of 9
1 6 7 8 9