2023 AAUT program

2023 AAUT program

15 June, 2023

We are thrilled to announce that the AAUT program will be continuing in 2023! With the support of Universities Australia, the 2023 AAUT program will be led by Prof Angela Carbone, as the Director, and the Awards Team, including Luana Spadafora as the Awards Manager. We are also currently seeking a Project Coordinator to join the team. 


Now it’s time to start encouraging your top educators to apply for this year’s round of awards, including previous Citation recipients to develop their nominations into a full Teaching Award application. You can now access the 2023 AAUT Nomination Packs on the Universities Australia website (under ‘How to Nominate’). There are a few minor changes to the Teaching Awards submission requirements (including Early Career) which are detailed in the Teaching Award Nomination Instructions.

As the AAUT award categories will remain the same in 2023, we are reusing the invaluable Professional Development Series developed last year. Nominees can watch these online sessions here. We recommend nominees watch the following PD sessions depending on their selected award category:

2022 Award Ceremonies

31 March, 2023

A big thank you to the following institutions who will be hosting the state-based ceremonies for the 2022 AAUT recipients:

DateState/sHosted byVenue /Virtual Event
2 May 2023WACurtin UniversityCurtin University (Perth CBD)
8 May 2023VIC/TASMonash University Monash campus, Clayton
12 May 2023SASANTPENAdelaide Convention Centre, Adelaide
28 June 2023ACT/NSWUniversity of Technology SydneyPowerhouse Museum NSW
15 June 2023QLDQueensland University of TechnologyQUT campus, QLD

Congratulations to our 2022 Award winners!

23 February, 2023

Congratulations to the 2022 Australian University Teacher of the Year Dr Poh Wah Hillock, from the University of Queensland, and the 2022 Career Achievement Award winner Prof David Boud, from Deakin University.

Dr Poh Wah Hillock is an innovative leader who has enhanced learning and teaching and the student experience at the University of Queensland (UQ). With her philosophy of identifying and then building upon students’ current knowledge, Poh has motivated and inspired countless students to excel in what is commonly regarded as a difficult discipline – Mathematics. Poh also led the successful transformation of UQ’s first year mathematics courses, delivering flexibility and high value on-campus learning experiences. The support network and course redesign have made a lasting impact on teaching and learning in the first year mathematics cohort at UQ, as evidenced by high course ratings, positive feedback from students and tutors and recognition from colleagues and teaching awards. You can watch a video of Dr Hillock’s work here.

Alfred Deakin Professor David Boud is a widely recognised leader in higher education and a prolific collaborator and mentor, linking learning and teaching leaders everywhere through research and co-publication. He has shaped the teaching, learning and assessment practice of higher education globally over the last 40 years. In particular, he has led and guided practical application of his work in assessment reform across the Australian higher education sector. Professor Boud’s pioneering work focuses on sustainable assessment, feedback as a process, and self-assessment and the development of students’ evaluative judgement. He has fostered application of his work in 85 education institutions in 19 countries, including 32 Australian universities, and has led or participated in 13 national collaborative projects to advance higher education practice in Australia. You can watch a video about Prof David Boud here.

We also congratulate A/Prof Benjamin Wilson from the University of Canberra for receiving the Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education. Associate Professor Ben Wilson is a Jagera man from the southern suburbs of Meanjin (Brisbane), with his Country extending out through Ipswich to Boonah. Ben has been teaching ecocentric approaches to education through Indigenous ways of knowing for the past three years at the University of Canberra and believes in the power and utility of First Nations knowledge to affect change in education systems.

In the official video announcement, we also celebrate the winners across all the other award categories, including:

  • 9 Teaching award recipients;
  • 4 Program award recipients; and
  • 59 Citation recipients.

Watch the official announcement here to see all of the recipients. You can read about their work in the 2022 AAUT Awards Ceremony Booklet.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2022 Australian Awards for University Teaching—we hope their example will inspire current and future leaders in education.

An enormous thank you to our Award Committee Chairs, including Emeritus Prof Pip Pattison, Prof David Sadler, Prof Sally Kift and Prof Liz Johnson, all of our volunteer assessors and our committed Institutional Contact Officers who make this program possible every year. And thank you to everyone who joined us to recognise the achievements of this year’s award winners. 

Page 1 of 30
1 2 3 30