



#### Greeting Colleagues,

Welcome to another edition of the AAUT newsletter! November is another busy month for assessments, and our 114 dedicated assessors have just completed reviewing nominations across all award categories. The next step is for the Awards Committees to begin their work.

I would like to extend heartfelt congratulations to my former boss, Emeritus Professor Ron Weber, the 2000 Australian University Teacher of the Year, on his recent appointment as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his outstanding service to tertiary education, accounting and information system development and professional associations.

A big thank you to all the institutions that submitted nominations for the AAUT Career Achievement Award. The results will be announced at the end of February 2025.

Lastly, stay tuned for more details on the Universities Australia (UA) Solution

#### Summit 2025 and the upcoming AAUT Ceremony.

Regards,

Professor Angela Carbone

#### **AAUT Director**

For regular updates about the AAUT awards

- **⊗** Follow <u>Angela Carbone Twitter X</u> (@ProfAngeCarbone)
- in Professor Angela Carbone LinkedIn
- AAUT Channel

## **TIMELINE & KEY DATES**



- Assessment period: Monday 14 October to Friday 6 December 2024
- AAUT Ceremony: Monday 24 February 2025



## **Assessment Update**

Following weeks of assessment, the 114 assessors have completed their evaluations. The Awards Committees will now review the assessors' ratings and feedback, make their award recommendations, and forward them to the Universities Australia Board for final approval.

Subscribe	Past Issues		Translate
-----------	-------------	--	-----------

## **Citation Awards Committee**



Prof Elizabeth Johnson (Chair) Deakin University



Prof Jessica Vanderlelie La Trobe University



**Prof Geoffrey Crisp**University of Canberra



Prof Allie Clemans Monash University

### **Program Awards Committee**



Prof David Sadler (Chair) The University of Western Australia



Prof Nicolette Lee La Trobe University



Prof Graham Brown Charles Sturt University



Prof Mark Brimble Griffith University



Prof Robina Xavier
Queensland University
of Technology

## **Teaching Awards Committee**



Emeritus Prof Pip Pattison (Chair) The University of Sydney



Prof Grady Venville Australian Nationa University



Prof Sherman Young RMIT University



Prof Denise Jackson Edith Cowan University



Prof Rorden Wilkinson Macquarie University

## **Career Achievement Award Nominations**

The 2024 AAUT Career Achievement Award (CAA) nominations have closed, with eight submissions received. The CAA Awards Committee will soon meet to select a shortlist, which will then be presented to Universities Australia Board for final endorsement.



## **AAUT State-Based Ceremony**

Each year, institutions from every state (WA, QLD, NSW, VIC/TAS, SA/NT) volunteer to host the state-based ceremony that celebrates the achievements of recipients from their regions. If your institution is interested in hosting the upcoming ceremony, please contact us.





Welcome Reception and Australian Awards for University Teaching

5.30-7.00pm, 24 February 2025

## **AAUT Awards Ceremony and UA Solution Submit 2025**

The next <u>Annual Solutions</u> will be held on 25-26 February 2025 at the National Convention Centre in Canberra. <u>Registration</u> is now open, with early bird registration prices available until Monday, 16 Dec 2024.

The 2024 AAUT Awards Ceremony will be part of the Welcome Reception. More details will be provided soon.





1997 - 2023
FIFTH EDITION

# AUSTRALIAN UNIVERSITY TEACHERS OF THE YEAR

Produced by Professor Angela Carbone and the AAUT Awards Team

## 1997 to 2023 AAUTY Booklet coming soon

This Australian University Teachers of the Year (AAUTY) booklet features the profiles of Australia's most highly recognized university teachers from 1997 to 2023. Stay

tuned for the latest version.



## 2024 Resources and Brochures

Check out the <u>AAUTN website</u> for information about:

- 2024 AAUT Program Overview
- 2024 AAUT Quick Reference
- Citations
- Program Awards
- Teaching Awards
- Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education
- Early Career Award
- Career Achievement Award







LATEST NEWS

2023 State-based ceremonies

Tweets by AAUTnetwork

AAUT NEWSLETTER



# Check out the AAUT-UA website for a range of

- 2024 Nomination Pack
- Nominees' Resources
- Past newsletters
- Past awards ceremony booklets
- Past recipients video series

## **Learning and Teaching Repository**

A collection of higher education learning and teaching research valuable to any university academic. Access topical resources and news, or contribute a new resource.





- Universities Australia LinkedIn
- in Professor Angela Carbone LinkedIn
- W Universities Australia twitter @uniaus
- AAUTN twitter (@aauniteachers)
- AAUT YouTube Channel
- Needed Now in L&T

View this email in your browser

Want to change how you receive these emails? You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

#### This email was sent to <a href="mailto:aaut@rmit.edu.au">aaut@rmit.edu.au</a>

why did I get this? unsubscribe from this list update subscription preferences

AAUT · RMIT University · 110 Victoria Street · Carlton, Vic 3053 · Australia

