

# AAUT: NEVILLE BONNER AWARD FOR INDIGENOUS EDUCATION

The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) were established in 1997 by the Australian Government to celebrate and reward excellence in university teaching and has been administrated by Universities Australia since 2018.

In 2002, the **Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education** was introduced as part of the Teaching Excellence Awards. Neville Bonner AO (1922-1999) was the first Indigenous Australian to sit in Parliament, and an elder of the Jagera people. He was almost unique in being an Indigenous activist and a political conservatist. His contribution to Australia has been recognised in perpetuity through the naming of a suburb of Canberra after him.

This award is part of the:

- <u>Citations for outstanding contributions to student learning</u> that recognise and reward the diversity of contributions made by individuals and teams to the quality of student learning.
- <u>Teaching Excellence Awards</u> that recognise Australia's most outstanding university teachers or teaching teams who have demonstrated excellence, leadership and sustained commitment to teaching and learning in higher education.
- Individuals must demonstrate their contribution to Indigenous education. Indigenous academics only may nominate.

## PAST AAUT NEVILLE BONNER AWARD RECIPIENTS

- 2020: Kujarra Mapu Muwarr Wakajku Team, The University of Notre Dame (Citations)
- 2018: The CAIK Team, University of Technology Sydney (Teaching Excellence)
- 2016: Associate Professor Heidi Norman, University of Technology Sydney (Teaching Excellence)
- 2015: Dr Asmi Wood, The Australian National University (Teaching Excellence)

ABSTRACT



### KUJARRA MAPU MUWARR WAKAJKU Team, The University of Notre Dame (Citations)

For a transformative 'third space' cultural learning experience – immersion on Yawuru and Karajarri Country in the course, Aboriginal People: The Silent History.



#### The CAIK Team, UTS (Teaching Excellence)

Engaging, enlivening, and connecting learners with Indigenous knowledge, practices, and protocols is the driving force behind Professor Susan Page, Professor Michelle Trudgett, and Associate Professor Gawaian Bodkin-Andrews' work within the University of Technology Sydney. In early 2015, they were employed to establish the Centre for the Advancement of Indigenous Knowledges in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, to lead the university-wide Indigenous Graduate Attribute project. Their teaching encompasses undergraduate and post-graduate students, as well as professional development for university teachers to contribute to the critique and decolonisation of Western/ Eurocentric knowledge about Indigenous peoples and communities, and the strengthening of knowledge and respect for, Indigenous ways of knowing, being, and doing. They created the innovative, contemporary, and Indigenous-centred subject, Aboriginal Sydney Now, which has grown to a thriving learning community of over 800 students. They built a strong cohort of dynamic Indigenous and non-Indigenous PhD students whose research is contributing to a diverse range of Indigenous research methodologies and culturally responsive research practices. As well, they lead a vibrant network of academic and professional staff across the university whose work continues to buttress the university's strategic intention to ensure that all graduates develop Indigenous professional capacities to work with Indigenous Australian peoples and communities.

### HOW TO NOMINATE

PVC Indigenous /DVCA to nominate potential applicants (up to three) from their institution via the online form by **Monday 31 May 2021.** Institutional Contact Officer (ICO) is responsible for the online submission of all nominations for their institution.

